Let’s get something straight, I am NOT a morning person.  I don’t even fully open my eyes until I’m on my second cup of coffee and I’m not approachable until my third.  Of course, if I know I have something good to eat coming my way it helps speed up the process of turning me human again, and a good breakfast is just one of a million reasons why I love the weekends.  This sandwich is pretty quick and easy.  The onions take a bit of time to caramelize but thats okay because it leaves time for….yes, you guessed it – another cup of coffee! And slicing onions when your eyes are still half closed helps keep the tears at bay.  Oh and best of all, I found this recipe in Cooking Light magazine which means it’s healthy even though it has bacon in it!

Ingredients

  • 4 slices center-cut bacon
  • One onion, thinly sliced
  • 1 tablespoon water
  • 1/2 teaspoon hot sauce (more or less depending on your taste)
  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • Dash of sugar
  • Cooking spray
  • 4  slices whole-wheat bread
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 cup arugula

Directions:

  1. Cook bacon in a nonstick skillet over medium heat until crisp (about 8 minutes). Remove bacon from pan, reserving drippings; drain on paper towels.

2. Add sliced onion, water, and hot sauce to the same pan used for the bacon; cover and cook for about 3 minutes. Stir in the butter and sugar; cover and cook for 3 more minutes. Uncover and cook for 5 minutes or until golden brown, stirring frequently. Set aside and keep warm. 3. Lightly toast the bread; spread with margarine or butter

4. Heat a large nonstick skillet over medium heat.  Crack eggs into pan, and cook for 2 minutes. Gently turn eggs, one at a time; cook 1 minute or until desired degree of doneness. Sprinkle evenly with salt and black pepper.

5. Assemble the sandwich by placing one bread slice on a plate, topping with half the onion mixture, one egg, two slices of bacon and 1/2 cup arugula; top with additional bread slice. Repeat for second sandwich. Serves 2

ENJOY!

Source: Cooking Light Magazine

