I’m back from my whirlwind weekend in Cabo San Lucas. We stayed at an all inclusive resort which means there is a strong likelihood I am still drunk right now from the unlimited supply of alcoholic beverages but hopefully I can manage to get this recipe out correctly.  While we were in Cabo, I had chilaquiles for breakfast both mornings. I love chilaquiles! Migas are technically Spanish, not Mexican but they’re a bit like chilaquiles. I think Migas are popular in Texas but I don’t know, I’ve never been to Texas, all I know is they make for a very satisfying breakfast. The recipe serves 2-3 people but if you want to serve more just double it.

Ingredients:

  • 2 whole Corn Tortillas
  • 1 small Jalapeno, Seeds removed, and finely diced
  • 1 small Green Pepper, Roughly Chopped
  • 1 small Red Bell Pepper, Roughly Chopped
  • 1/2 Medium Onion, Chopped
  • 6  Large Eggs
  • 1/8 liter Cotija Cheese, Grated plus more for sprinkling.  If you can’t find Cotija cheese just use whatever cheese you like.
  • 3 TB Cilantro, Chopped
  • 1/2 Tablespoon Butter
  • 1 Tablespoon Olive Oil
  • 2 TB Half-and-half

Directions:

Prep: Get everything chopped and ready to go

1. In a bowl, whisk together the eggs and half & half. Salt and pepper the eggs, then set aside.

2. In a small skillet over medium heat, heat the oil and fry each corn tortilla until crispy on both sides. Remove and drain on paper towel lined plate. Once cool, chop the tortillas and set aside.

3. In a large skillet over medium-high heat, melt the olive oil with the butter. Add the onion and both bell peppers and cook until the peppers start to turn brown/black, about 3 to 4 minutes. Add in diced jalapenos and stir to combine, then add tortilla pieces, stirring gently to combine.

4. Reduce the heat to low.

5. When the heat has decreased, pour the egg mixture into skillet. Stir gently to cook with the peppers, folding mixture very gently as it cooks. Add in the grated cheese and chopped cilantro, and stir to combine.

6. The Pioneer Woman recommends serving with black beans.  I didn’t have any black beans so I just served it with an extra tortilla and topped the Migas with a little extra cheese.

ENJOY!

Source: Adapted from The Pioneer Woman

