I’m eating one of these as I type, and drinking tea to try and keep my hacking at bay as I have come down with a cold.  Actually I’ve been fighting a cold for a while and I just gave it to my boyfriend, probably from coughing into something I cooked for him.  He called me Typhoid Mary earlier and I just read about Typhoid Mary on Wikipedia, very interesting. An irresponsible cook constantly hiding from the law – perhaps I was her in a past life.  Just kidding. Anyway, I think I succeeded at my goal to make something with pumpkin in it each week in October! These muffins are super easy and simple yet scrumpcious. Go make some now, but be sure to wash your hands and cover your mouth – don’t be like Typhoid Mary.

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 cup canned pumpkin
  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 teaspoon pumpkin-pie spice
  • 1 1/4 cups plus 1 tablespoon sugar, divided
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon

Directions:

1.  Preheat the oven to 350°F. Line 12 muffin tins with cupcake liners

2.  Mix the flour and baking powder together

3. Whisk together the pumpkin, oil, eggs, pumpkin pie spice, 1 1/4 cups sugar, baking soda, and salt in a large bowl until smooth (I used a wire whisk, no need for the stand up mixer for this one)

4. Gently whisk in flour mixture until just combined.

5. In a small bowl, mix together the cinnamon and remaining 1 tablespoon sugar

6. Pour the batter into the muffin cups, filling each about 3/4 full.  Sprinkle with the cinnamon-sugar mixture. Bake about 25 – 30 minutes, until puffed and golden brown and a toothpick or knife inserted into the center of a muffin comes out clean.

Yields One Dozen Muffins

ENJOY!

Source: Smitten Kitchen

