I’m not gonna lie, I was a little apprehensive about trying black bean burgers.  For some silly reason I imagined them tasting like dried out bean mush. Luckily, that is not the case at all. These were delicious! I scarfed mine down and found myself wishing I could have another.  I think I would make these again even if I wasn’t on a diet! In other exciting news, I figured out how to posts hyperlinks in my blog today. I think everyone but me knew how to do this but I’m finally with it.  Now I can write things like: check out this cute dress I ordered today. A new dress and a tasty, healthy burger – I’d have to say today was pretty good for a weekday.

Ingredients:

*The recipe makes 6 burgers, if you’re cooking for two just cut it in half and make two big burgers*

  • 3/4 Cup Panko Breadcrumbs
  • 3 TB plus 2 tsp Olive Oil, divided
  • 2 15 oz. cans black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1 red pepper seeded and finely chopped
  • 1/4 cup cilantro, chopped (I forgot this and they still turned out good)
  • 1 shallot, minced (I also forgot this) 

Directions:

1. Place a medium skillet over medium-high heat.  Combine the panko with 2 teaspoons of the olive oil and mix with a fork to blend.  Add the mixture to the skillet and toast the panko, stirring frequently, until light golden brown.  Remove from the heat and let cool to room temperature. (The toasted panko is my favorite part of this burger – gives it a great crunch)

2. Place 2½ cups of the beans in a large bowl and mash with a potato masher or a fork until mostly smooth.  In a separate bowl, combine the eggs, 1 tablespoon of the oil, cumin, salt and cayenne pepper and whisk together.  Add the egg mixture, toasted panko, the remaining ½ cup beans, bell pepper, cilantro and shallot to the bowl with the mashed beans.  Stir together until evenly combined.

3. Divide the mixture into 6 equal portions, about ½ cup each.  Lightly pack into 1-inch thick patties.

4. Heat 1 tablespoon of the oil in a large skillet over medium heat until shimmering.  Carefully lay half of the patties in the skillet and cook until well browned on both sides, about 8-10 minutes total. (This is the tricky part, be very careful with the patties as they can easily fall apart. Place them gently in the skillet and let them cook about 4-5 minutes before very carefully flipping them over with a spatula)

5. Transfer the cooked burgers to a plate, tent with foil, and repeat with the remaining oil and bean patties.

6. Serve on a toasted bun with your favorite toppings. I put cheese, ketchup, lettuce and tomato on mine.

ENJOY!

Source: Annie’s Eats

 
