I’ve been doing pretty good on my cleanse diet and haven’t had too many cravings for bad food.  However, a few days ago I had an overwhelming desire for dessert – chocolate dessert.  I tried to suppress the urge as long as I could but it wouldn’t go away.  So I flipped through the dessert section of Bethenny Frankel’s book and found this recipe for chocolate cake with peanut butter glaze.  I’m not gonna lie, this doesn’t exactly taste like Duncan Hines but, if you’re on a diet like me or if you have a loved one with a gluten intolerance, it gets the job done in satisfying a chocolate craving. It’s also Vegan if you use soy milk for the glaze so its a good treat to make for your hippie friends too.

Ingredients:

For the Cake:

  • 1 1/4 cups oat flour (or other flour of your choice, I used brown rice flour)
  • 1 cup raw sugar (I cheated and used regular white sugar)
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 cup warm water
  • 1 tsp real vanilla extract
  • 2 TB vegetable oil
  • 1 tsp apple cider vinegar (white vinegar will do if you don’t have apple)

For the Glaze:

  • 1/2 cup raw sugar (I cheated again and used regular white sugar)
  • 2 TB canola oil
  • 2 TB soy milk (I used regular ol cow milk)
  • 2 TB creamy peanut butter
  • 2 TB unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 2 tsp real vanilla extract

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Put all the ingredients into a large bowl and mix together
  2. Coat a regular size loaf pan with cooking spray. Pour the batter into the loaf pan. Bake for 40-50 minutes, rotating the pan about halfway through the baking time, until a toothpick or knife inserted into the middle comes out clean.

3. While the cake is cooling, make the glaze.  Place all the ingredients in a bowl and mix together with a hand blender. (I don’t have a hand blender so I placed everything in the cup of a magic bullet and blended it together). If the mixture isn’t dissolving, heat over low on the stove until it begins to dissolve, stirring constantly.  Spread the glaze over the cake, slice and serve.ENJOY!

Source: Adapted from The Skinny Girl Dish By: Bethenny Frankel 

