I’ve always prided myself on the fact that I am the opposite of a picky eater. I’ll eat just about anything you put in front of me with the exception of pickles and green olives and I’ve been like that for as long as I can remember.  I used to beg my parents to let me order off the “grown up menu” as a kid because chicken fingers and spaghetti were nowhere near as good as shrimp scampi or chicken cordon bleu. But recently I realized I may not be as adventurous of an eater as I like to think. There are still some foods I’m a little apprehensive of and curry is one of them.  I bought red curry paste for the first time to make this recipe and it wasn’t scary at all, it was delicious!

This recipe takes a bit of effort so I would recommend saving it for a weekend night when you have a little more time to spend putting it all together.  It’s not very difficult though so don’t be scared away by all the steps.  And, even if you don’t have all the ingredients or buy the wrong kind of shrimp like I did, it should still turn out just fine.

Ingredients:

For the Shrimp:

  • 1 1/2 pounds uncooked shrimp, peeled and deveined (I accidentally bought cooked shrimp – oops)
  • 2 TB chopped fresh cilantro
  • 1 TB minced jalepeno pepper
  • 2 TB fresh lime juice
  • 2 TB fresh lemon juice
  • 1 tsp chile powder (apparently this is different than chili powder with an “i” but I used chili powder and it turned out this fine)
  • 1 TB soy sauce
  • 1 TB brown sugar
  • 2 tsp red pepper flakes
  • 1 Cup olive oil
  • Salt and Pepper to taste

For the Rice:

  • 2 Cups water
  • 1 Cup Jasmine Rice (white or brown)
  • 1 TB butter
  • 3 TB chopped fresh cilantro
  • 1/2 cup coconut flakes, toasted to golden brown in a skillet
  • 1/2 cup light coconut milk (if you can’t find light, regular is okay too)
  • Salt and Pepper to taste

For the Peas

  • 2 TB canola oil
  • 1 tsp fresh ginger (or 1/2 tsp dried ginger)
  • 1 tsp minced garlic
  • 2 cups sugar snap peas
  • 2 cups pea shoota (I left this out)
  • 1/2 tsp fresh lime juice
  • 1 TB butter
  • Salt to taste

For the Vinaigrette

  • 3 TB macadamia oil (any nut oil or olive oil will do, I used peanut oil)
  • 1 TB rice wine vinegar
  • 2 tsp light coconut milk
  • 2 tsp red curry paste
  • 2 tsp brown sugar
  • 2 tsp orange juice
  • 1 tsp lime juice

For the Garnish

  • 2 TB chopped macadamia nuts, briefly toasted in a skillet until golden
  • 2 TB fresh cilantro

Directions:

1. To make the shrimp: Mix all the ingredients for the shrimp in a bowl.  Toss in the shrimp and marinate overnight (I didn’t read the recipe until a few hours before I wanted to eat, so I marinated the shrimp for about 2 hours and it was still very flavorful)

2. To make the rice: Bring the water to a boil in a saucepan, add the rice and butter and reduce the heat to a simmer.  Cover and cook about 20 minutes until tender. Let the rice cool slightly then toss with the cilantro, toasted coconut, coconut milk, salt and pepper. Keep warm

3. To make the peas: Heat the canola oil in a nonstick skillet over medium-high heat.  Saute the garlic and ginger for about 1 minute until fragrant. Add the peas and pea shoots (if using) and saute for about 2 minutes.  Add the lime juice, butter and salt and toss.  Remove from heat and keep warm.

4. To make the vinaigrette: Combine all the ingredients in a small bowl and whisk to combine.  Set aside until ready to use

5. Saute the shrimp with a little bit of the marinade in a skillet over medium-high heat for about 2-3 minutes until cooked through. (Or if you accidentally bought already cooked shrimp like me, just cook briefly until warm)

6. Place the rice on a plate, top with shrimp, drizzle with vinaigrette and sprinkle with chopped macadamia nuts.  Place peas on the side and serve.

This Recipe serves 4.

ENJOY!

Adapted From: Chef Hosea Rosenberg and The Skinny Girl Dish By: Bethenny Frankel

