Did you know it is still Autumn? It is. I know its deceiving with all the Christmas Trees and Snowmen and Gingerbread Lattes at Starbucks, but I promise you, it’s still the best season of the year until December 22nd. Which means, I will continue to cook recipes with butternut squash and/or apples and/or pears in them at least two times per week until December 22nd. And it’s always bacon season so I don’t need to worry about that. I know this pizza sounds a little weird, I had my doubts too but I tried it and it was soooo delicious. I was sad I didn’t make an entire pizza all for myself – this was not easy to share. Jessica of HowSweetItIs has become my new hero. I love all her recipes. I like to think she’s awesome because her name is Jessica. I really don’t think I’ve ever met a Jessica I didn’t like…

Ingredients:

  • Whole wheat pizza dough (you can make your own but why do that when you can buy it at Trader Joe’s?)
  • 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 large apple, very thinly sliced
  • 5 slices thick-cut bacon, cut into squares
  • 1 small red onion, sliced
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 1 cup freshly grated cheese (I used a mix of gouda and mozzarella)
  • 1/4 cup freshly grated parmesan cheese
  • 8-10 sage leaves

Directions:

1. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F.

2. Let the dough sit at room temperature for 15 minutes. While dough is sitting, slice the onion.

3. Heat a small skillet over medium heat and add 1/2 tablespoon olive oil, then add onions and a touch of salt. Cook, stirring occasionally, until the onions are caramelized. This should take about 10-15 minutes. About a minute before the onions are done, add the garlic and cook for one minute, then set aside.

4. While onions are cooking, cut bacon and cook it either in the microwave or another skillet, remove from heat about 2-3 minutes before its done. (Or if you are an airhead like me and forgot to buy bacon, you can send your significant other to the store at this point in the cooking process and fry up the bacon while the pizza is cooking and sprinkle it on top once the pizza is done)

5. Roll the pizza dough out on a floured surface into either a circle or rectangle.  Brush with remaining olive oil and sprinkle with nutmeg.

6. Mix the cheeses together and sprinkle half the cheese mixture onto the pizza dough. Slice the apples and place a layer of apples on the cheese. Add the onions and garlic on top of the apples. Sprinkle the remaining cheese onto the pizza, the bacon, and the remaining apple slices. Place the sage leaves on top.

7. Bake for 20-25 minutes, until crust is golden brown and cheese is bubbly.

ENJOY!

Source: How Sweet It Is 

