Time to get skinny! After my dressing room fiasco the other night, I’m already getting a jump start on the new year and thinking of all the healthy recipes I want to make.  I’m also hoping Santa brings me a Wii fit and some cute new workout clothes for Christmas (maybe Lululemon?? Please Santa, I’ve been good this year, I promise!!) I have a feeling Skinny Taste is going to be my go to website for nutritious and delicious receipes in 2012.  Although, one of my new year’s resolutions is to dust off my Julia Child cookbook and attempt to “Master the art of French cooking”.  I guess its all about balance right? Just wait until you see the recipe I post tomorrow, nothing healthy about it yet soo sooo soo good. So make this chicken tonight while doing jumping jacks, then you can make what I post tomorrow and not feel an ounce of guilt!

Ingredients:

  • 10 oz package frozen chopped spinach, thawed and thoroughly drained
  • 1 tsp oil
  • 1/2 cup Feta cheese (reduced fat or fat free if you like)
  • 1/3 cup part skim ricotta (I overlooked this on my shopping list and replaced it with light sour cream.  I think it would have been much better with ricotta)
  • 1/4 cup chopped Italian parsley
  • 1/4 cup chopped scallions
  • 1/2 onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • salt and pepper
  • 3  chicken breast halves
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tbsp water
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat seasoned breadcrumbs (or whatever kind you have on hand)
  • Cooking Spray
  • toothpicks

Directions:

1. In a medium sized saute pan, heat the oil, then add the onions and garlic. Saute for about 1 minute then add the spinach, parsley, salt and pepper and saute another minute.

2. Remove from heat and add the feta and ricotta cheese.

3. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

4. Slice the chicken breasts into 2 or 3 cutlets. Place them in a plastic bag and pound them with a mallet or rolling pin to make them thinner. Take out of the bag and season with salt and pepper.

5. Place about 1/4 cup of the spinach mixture in the middle of each chicken cutlet and fold or roll to cover.  Secure the chicken with toothpicks, trying to cover as much of the filling as you can.  (Don’t worry if it doesn’t look perfect, mine sure didn’t, it will still taste good).

6. Beat the egg and water in a shallow bowl.  Pour the breadcrumbs in another shallow bowl.  Dip each chicken piece in the egg wash and then in the breadcrumbs to coat. Place on a baking sheet coated with cooking spray.  Spray tops of chicken pieces with additional cooking spray.

7. Bake about 25 minutes until chicken is cooked through and no longer pink.

ENJOY!

Source: Skinny Taste

