I was a little slow to jump on the “It’s January so I must eat healthy” bandwagon.  But I guess that’s what happens when you plan a trip to Las Vegas the weekend after the New Year. I think I ate more red meat this past weekend then I do in an average month. I actually went to a restaurant called The Heart Attack Grill. What is wrong with me?! I have a Hawaii trip coming up this Spring! I need to get my ass in gear! But, on a side note, if you are ever in Las Vegas you should really check out The Heart Attack Grill. It’s a pretty awesome experience. I only ordered a single, I swear!! I will try and make up for it this week with lots of salmon and green things. Oh, and hours of sweaty fun playing Just Dance 2 on the Wii. So Fun! I’m a dork. I know. Shut up and go make this soup.

Ingredients:

Serves 4

  • 1 1/4 pounds turkey or chicken sausage without casings.
  • 2 tsp olive oil
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1/2 bunch kale, rinsed, stems removed, and roughly chopped
  • 1 can Cannellini or Northern beans, drained and rinsed
  • 4 cups chicken broth
  • 2 cups water
  • 1 pinch red pepper flakes (optional)
  • salt and freshly ground pepper to taste
  • Parmesan Cheese for topping (optional)
  • Crusty Bread for serving (optional)

Directions:

1. Heat the olive oil over medium-high heat in a large soup pot. Add the sausage meat breaking it up with a spatula or wooden spoon into large chunks. When sausage is cooked through, add the garlic and saute for 2 to 3 minutes

2. Add the water, chicken stock, beans and red pepper flakes (if using) and stir to combine.  Cover the pot and simmer on low for about 10 minutes. Toss in the kale and allow to simmer for another 10 minutes covered. Add salt and pepper to taste.

3. Ladle into bowls, top with parmesan and serve with a nice big piece of crusty bread. Yum!

ENJOY!

Source: Adapted from Skinny Taste 

