So, this is Martha Stewart’s recipe for Snickerdoodles. As I’ve mentioned before, I’m not a super huge Martha fan.  I like to say it’s because of that whole insider trading thing, but let’s be honest, it’s really because she makes me feel inadequate. I can barely draw a stick figure, I most certainly cannot make homemade wrapping paper and potpourri. However, the woman sure does know how to make a cookie. Her chocolate chip recipe is the best I’ve found. And these snickerdoodles were pretty good too.  However, as I was making them, I couldn’t help but think of all the things I had done in the last few days that Martha would never do. Here’s a snapshot:

1. Watch the Jersey Shore and love every second of it

2. Run out of sugar while making Snickerdoodles and exclaim loud enough for the neighbors to hear, “Sh**! What do I do now?!”

3. Drop my flat iron in the toilet.

4. Mention the word toilet on a food blog

And the list goes on and on and on. But that’s enough about that. Time to bake some cookies! 

Ingredients:

  • 2 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 tsp cream of tartar
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 2 sticks (one cup) unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 1 3/4 cups sugar, divided, plus more if needed (If you run out of white sugar like me, just make up for it with brown sugar)
  • 2 TB ground cinnamon, plus more if needed
  • 2 large eggs

Directions:

1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees, with one rack in top third and one rack in bottom third of oven. Line baking sheets with wax/parchment paper and  set aside.

2. Sift together the flour, cream of tartar, baking soda, and salt, and set aside.

3. In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with a paddle attachment, combine the softened butter,  and 1 1/2 cups sugar. Beat on medium speed until light and fluffy, about 2 minutes. Scrape down sides of bowl. Add eggs, and beat to combine. Add dry ingredients, and stir until just combined.

4. In a small bowl, or shallow dish, combine remaining 1/4 cup sugar and the ground cinnamon. Use a small ice-cream scoop (or your hands) to form balls of the dough, and roll in the cinnamon sugar. Place about 2 inches apart on the prepared baking sheets.

5. Bake cookies about 10 minutes until they are set in center and begin to crack (they will not brown). Be careful not to over bake.  Allow to cool for a few minutes then transfer to wire racks.

ENJOY!

Source: Adapted from Martha Stewart 

