Would you like to know what I did Friday night? It’s a great insight into how cool I am.  I came home from work, grabbed a giant chocolate chip cookie and hopped into bed to begin the daunting task of clearing up space on the DVR.  I made it all the way through Jersey Shore obviously, as it’s the best television show ever made.  But then, about 15 minutes into Grey’s Anatomy, I fell asleep – at 6pm.  I woke up about an hour later with chocolate chips smashed onto my chest and cookie crumbs all over the bed. I then decided it was time to do something productive with my life so I got out of bed and poured myself a glass of wine.  Oh, and then I made this Strata so I would have something delicious to wake up to this morning. What’s great about Strata is you do all the work the night before, then in the morning you just have to pop it in the oven and poof! delicious, hot breakfast without having to dirty up any dishes.

Ingredients:

  • One loaf Ciabatta bread, or other hearty bread of your choice, cut into small cubes
  • 1/2 pound chicken breakfast sausage, or other breakfast sausage of your choice
  • 1 cup sliced mushrooms
  • 8 eggs
  • 2 cups milk
  • 1 1/2 cups shredded cheese of your choice (I used cheddar & jack)
  • 1/4 cup fresh Italian parsley, chopped
  • 1 1/2 tsp herbs de provence
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp pepper

Directions:

1. Preheat the Oven to 400 degrees

2. Place the sliced bread on a baking sheet in a single layer and toast in the oven for about 8 minutes

3. Spray a large 9 x 11 baking dish with cooking spray.  Place the toasted bread in an even layer at the bottom of the dish

4. Cook the sausage in a medium skillet over medium-high heat until fully cooked through, about 5-7 minutes

5. Sprinkle the cooked sausage and the sliced mushrooms over the bread and give a quick toss to combine

6. Mix the eggs, milk, cheese, herbs de provence, paprika, salt & pepper together in a large bowl and whisk together

7. Pour the egg mixture evenly over the bread mixture.  Cover and place in the fridge overnight.  In the morning, bake at 350 degrees for 50 minutes until cheese is bubbly and strata is set in the center.

ENJOY!

