Two critical things happened on my great Hawaiin adventure.  First, my friends and I saved an old man’s life (and the life of his hearing aid) by pulling him up to safety after he slipped and rolled down the side of a hill during our Napali Coast hike. Second, after a few margaritas during our polynesion cinco de mayo celebration, I somehow dropped my camera into a glass of water. Whoops. I was very worried that my camera was good and dead and I would have to withold from purchasing any new shoes for months in order to fund my new camera purchase. But, miraculously, after leaving it out to dry for a few days, it appears to be working just fine.  I attribute it’s survival to the good karma I earned from saving the old man’s life. Karma is real people, so be nice and go make this rice.

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup brown rice
  • 2 TB canoloa oil
  • 1/2 pound ground turkey
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 1 tsp ground ginger
  • 4 scallions or a small handful of chives, chopped
  • 1 cup frozen peas, defrosted
  • 1 cup snow peas, chopped in half
  • 4 carrots, peeled and sliced
  • 2 TB hoisin sauce
  • 2 TB rice vinegar
  • Hot sauce, to taste

Directions:

1. Cook the rice according to package instructions, set aside

2. Heat the oil in a large skillet over medium heat, add the turkey, garlic, ginger, and 1/2 of the scallions or chives.  Stir, breaking up the meat, until cooked through, about 4-5 minutes.

3. Add the rice, peas, carrots, snow peas, vinegar and hoisin sauce, stir to combine, and cook until heated through.

4. Top with remaining scallions or chives and serve

ENJOY!

Source: Adapted from Real Simple Magazine

