Want to know something crazy about me? Summer is not my favorite season. Like many foodies and bakers, I love Fall. It’s really hard to beat a season that has both Halloween and Thanksgiving.  But, I guess summer isn’t so bad. I do like having an excuse to buy lots of cute dresses, and not having to remember to bring a sweater or jacket with me everywhere I go. I especially love that it’s not dark when I leave the office and the sun is already up and shining when I wake up in the morning. Oh and of course, I love being able to cook and eat outside. Fire up the grill and mix up some Sangria – summer is here! Except, what do you do when you have your kabobs all skewered up and ready to go and you discover the gas tank for the outdoor grill is empty? First, you blame it on your significant other. Then, you bust out your handy dandy indoor stove-top grilling pan and get over it.  Oh and don’t forget to turn the stove fan on high so you don’t set off the smoke detector (I learned that the hard way). Happy Grilling!

Ingredients:

Serves 2

  • 2  Chicken Breasts
  • 1/4 cup Maple Syrup
  • 2 TB Soy Sauce
  • 2 TB Pineapple Juice
  • 1 cup fresh Pineapple,  Diced
  • 1 Jalapeno, Minced
  • 3 TB Cilantro, Roughly Chopped
  • 1/4 cup Red Onion, Diced
  • 1/2 tsp Rice Wine Vinegar (or White Vinegar)
  • 1/2 TB Sugar
  • Salt to taste
  • Pepper To Taste

Directions:

1. If you’re using wooden skewers, be sure to soak the skewers in water for several hours first.

2. Slice the chicken breasts into even sized chunks, then thread each piece onto the skewers

3. Combine the maple syrup, soy sauce, and pineapple juice in a small saucepan over medium high heat. Bring it to a boil, then reduce the heat to medium/medium low, and let it bubble up and reduce by about one-fourth. Set aside to cool.

4. In a small bowl, combine chopped pineapple, jalapeno, cilantro, red onion, vinegar, sugar, salt, and pepper. Set aside.

5. Grill the chicken kabobs until they’re done, then baste the maple reduction over the kabobs toward the end of the grilling time. Remove them from heat and place them on a platter.

6. To serve, top the kabobs with the pineapple salsa.

ENJOY!

Source: Adapted from The Pioneer Woman

