IMG_0156

So even though I was super excited my 49ers were finally in the Superbowl this weekend, I was even more excited not to have to go to a Superbowl party.  Call me a boring party pooper, but sometimes you just need a weekend that isn’t packed non-stop with places to be and people to see.  After many busy weekends in a row, I was very excited about my quiet Superbowl Sunday in my pajamas.  I was also very excited about my first attempt to roast a whole chicken, and, unlike my 49ers, I succeeded!  I even managed to make it low-fat and healthy, something that never would have happened at a Superbowl party. My next mission is to learn how to properly carve a chicken – you will notice there are no pictures of the chicken post-carving as it pretty much looked like a wild animal attacked it.  But taste is much more important that aesthetics so I still call this a winner!  

Ingredients:

For the Chicken:

  • One Whole chicken (3-4 pounds)
  • 1/2 onion, cut into chunks
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2 Lemon
  • 2-3 sprigs fresh rosemary
  • 1 TB herbs de provence

For the Vegetables:

  • 2 TB olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp rosemary
  • 1/2 tsp thyme
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 3 red potatoes, cut into chunks
  • 2 large carrots, peeled and chopped
  • 2 parsnips, peeled and chopped
  • 1 shallot, chopped
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1/3 cup chicken broth

Directions:

1. Preheat the oven to 425 degrees

2. Rinse your chicken well and pat dry with paper towels.  Season the inside and out of the chicken with salt, pepper, and herbs de provence.

IMG_0140

3. Place the chicken in a roasting pan coated with non-stick spray. Squeeze the juice of 1/2 lemon all over the chicken.  Place the lemon half inside the chicken along with the onion and rosemary springs.

4. Combine the potatoes, carrots, parsnips, shallots, garlic, olive oil and seasonings and spices in a bowl and mix together. Pour the vegetable mixture all around the base of the chicken in the roasting pan.  Pour the chicken broth evenly over the vegetables.

IMG_0150

5. Roast the chicken and vegetables for about One hour until the internal temperature reaches 165 degrees.  If your chicken is closer to four pounds you may need an additional 20 minutes of cooking time.

ENJOY!

Source: Inspired by Skinny Taste and Giada De Laurentiis

