IMG_0208

I pride myself on the fact that I am not, nor have I ever been, a picky eater. For the most part, I will try anything once, even weird things like alligator (tastes like chewy chicken).  As a kid, I was a pretty good eater as well.  No one ever had to tell me twice to finish all the food on my plate, and around age seven I started begging to be able to order off the grown up menu at restaurants, because my young mind already knew lobster tail was far better than chicken fingers. But, there were a few things I hated as a child that I have now grown to love and Brussel sprouts is definitely one of them.  I remember absolutely despising Brussel sprouts as a kid.  My parents steamed them and I could smell them cooking from up in my room and would get filled with anxiety about having to eat such a wretched food.  Now, I absolutely love them and could eat them every day.  I think what changed is not so much my palette, but the cooking style.  Brussel sprouts have made a come back recently because some genius person decided to try roasting them – a bazillion times better than steaming them! It turns it into a whole different vegetable!

Ingredients:

Serves Four

  • 3/4 pound brussel sprouts, cleaned, chopped into small pieces
  • 1/2 onion, chopped finely
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 TB butter
  • 1/4 cup chicken broth
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • 2 TB pecans, chopped
  • Salt, to taste

Directions:

1. Melt the butter in a large frying pan over medium-high heat.  Add the onions and garlic and cook for about 4 minutes.

IMG_0205

2. Add the chopped brussel sprouts to the pan and continue to cook for about 2-3 minutes.

IMG_0203

3. Add the chicken broth and sugar to the pan and continue cooking until liquid is almost completely evaporated, about 5 minutes.

4. Srinkle on salt and toss in pecans and cook another 1-2 minutes.

IMG_0210

ENJOY!

Source: Adapted from Cooking Light

