IMG_0299

My favorite holiday is almost here!! I have corned beef and cabbage cooking in the crock pot as I write this and I’ve been eating extra healthy all week to make up for the absurd amount of beer I plan to drink this weekend. And I’m not even Irish….   I don’t know why I love St. Patrick’s Day so much but as long as I can remember it’s been such a fun holiday for me. Maybe it’s because I look good in green? Or maybe it’s because it’s the one holiday where drinking is not only common but required. I usually love to make car bomb cupcakes but I figured I would try something new this year and a little more appropriate to bring into the office.  These lucky charms cupcakes were a huge hit.  Just remember to be careful with the green food coloring –  at least three of my fingers have had a greenish tint for the last few days.

IMG_0312

Ingredients:

Makes Approximately 18 regular sized cupcakes

For the Cupcakes:

  • 1 box white cake mix
  • 3 eggs
  • 3/4  cup sour cream
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 1/3 vegetable oil
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup Lucky Charms cereal, finely crushed
  • Approximately 25 drops of green food coloring

For the Frosting:

  • 3-4 cups powdered sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 cup unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 1 (13 oz) container marshmallow fluff
  • Green Sprinkles for decorating (optional)
  • Extra Lucky Charms for decorating (optional)

Directions:

1. Preheat the Oven to 350 degrees, Line cupcake pans with liners

2. In a large bowl, mix together the cake mix, eggs, sour cream, milk, oil and vanilla extract (You can also use a stand up mixer)

IMG_0272

3. Carefully mix in the green food coloring until you achieve the desired color

4. Fold in the crushed lucky charms

IMG_0279

5. Divide the batter amongst the cupcake tins, filling each one about 3/4 of the way full.  Bake for 18-22 minutes until a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean. Transfer to a wire rack and allow to cool completely before frosting.

IMG_0286

6. To make the frosting, beat the butter with an electric mixer until smooth.  Start by adding two cups of the powdered sugar, the vanilla and the marshmallow fluff. Beat together until smooth.  Add an additional cup of the powder sugar and continue mixing.  Taste the frosting and add additional powdered sugar if desired. (3 cups was plenty sweet for me)

7. Spread or Pipe the frosting onto the cooled cupcakes. Decorate with sprinkles if desired. You can also top with lucky charms but do not do this until immediately before serving or the cereal will get soggy.

IMG_0291

ENJOY!

Source: Adapted from Just Call Me Maria

