IMG_1613

It’s no secret that I am a bit obsessed with the Middleton sisters. I named one of our dogs Pippa and came very very close to calling in sick to watch every single second of Royal Wedding coverage. I also may or may not have a large framed photograph of Kate and Will on their wedding day with me and my husband’s faces photo-shopped over them.  And, I refer to the Duke and Duchess as Kate and Will like they’re life-long friends of mine.

The good news is, I have wonderful friends who share in my delusions and help support them.  My friend Kerry actually went to London for the Royal Wedding and wears a knock-off royal engagement ring. Compared to her, I am 100% normal which is just one of many reasons I love Kerry.  Reason #2 is that she gave me Pippa Middleton’s cookbook for Christmas. I tried out my first recipe this weekend and it was delicious.  However, there is no way those skinny sisters actually eat this, it has about ten gallons of bacon grease in it. So, if your goal is to fit into your pre-holiday skinny jeans, this recipe may not be for you. But, if your goal is to cure a hangover with a nice greasy breakfast, this recipe will be your new best friend.

Ingredients:

Serves Four

  • 1 TB olive oil
  • 1/2 pound breakfast sausage, casings removed
  • 6 slices bacon, chopped
  • 1 cup mushrooms, sliced
  • 1/2 cup cherry tomatoes, halved
  • 8 eggs
  • 3 ounces cheddar cheese, shredded
  • Salt and Pepper

Directions:

1. Pre-heat the broiler. Position in an oven rack in the top 1/3 of the oven.

2. Heat the oil in an oven-safe skillet over medium-high heat. Add the sausage and cook a few minutes until browned. Add the chopped bacon to the skillet a cook for about 3 minutes until fat begins to render

3. Add the mushrooms to the pan and cook for 5-6 minutes, stirring frequently.

IMG_1600

4. Add the tomatoes to the pan and cook for another minute or two. While tomatoes are cooking, whisk the eggs in a bowl and season with salt and pepper.

IMG_1601

5. Pour the egg mixture into the pan and cook for 8-10 minutes until the eggs begin setting around the edges.

IMG_1604

6. Sprinkle the cheese over the frittata and place under the broiler. Leave the oven cracked slightly to ensure the frittata does not burn. Broil for about 4 minutes until cheese is bubbly and the frittata is full set in the center.

IMG_1610

ENJOY!

Source: Adapted from “Celebrate: A Year of Festivities for Family and Friends” by Pippa Middleton 

