IMG_2144

Have I mentioned yet that we moved? Back in May we moved from San Diego County a few hours North to Ventura County.  We were sad to leave San Diego but happy we are still in beautiful Southern California, and still within driving distance from our friends and family.

While there are lots of things I miss about San Diego, obviously my favorite restaurants are top on the list. We’re still testing out the restaurants in our new neighborhood and trying to discover the best spots. In the meantime, I’ve decided to start recreating some of the dishes I miss most from my favorite San Diego restaurants.

I used to get this wrap at least once a week as the restaurant was within walking distance from my work. When I first saw it on the menu, I thought it sounded a bit weird – shrimp and strawberries? Really? But I decided to be adventurous and try it, and boy am I glad I did. It is delicious. I am obsessed. I ate two in a row when I made them the other night, and another one for lunch the next day. Go. Make. Them. Now. 

Ingredients:

  • 4 extra large, whole wheat wraps/tortillas
  • 1 lb. raw shrimp, peeled and deveined with tails removed
  • 1 TB olive oil
  • Salt and Pepper
  • Seasoning Salt of choice (optional)
  • 2 cups mixed greens
  • 1/2 cup sliced strawberries
  • 1 avocado, diced
  • 1/4 cup chopped walnuts
  • 1/4 cup dried cranberries
  • Balsamic dressing of choice

Directions:

1. Place the shrimp in a bowl and season with salt, pepper and a little seasoning salt if you’re feeling flavorful, add the olive oil and toss to evenly coat the shrimp

IMG_2134

2. Heat a skillet over medium heat and add the shrimp. Cook until just done, about 1-2 minutes per side. Remove from skillet to cool slightly.

IMG_2137

3. Assemble the wraps by laying out a tortilla and placing some mixed greens in the center, top with a few of the cooked shrimp, some strawberries and avocados and then some walnuts and cranberries. Be careful not to stuff the wrap too full or it won’t close. Drizzle a little balsamic dressing over the top.

IMG_2138

4. Roll up the wrap like a burrito, tucking the sides in and then folding and rolling tight until closed. Cut in half and serve immediately.

YUM!

IMG_2143

Source: Inspired by Swami’s Cafe in Carlsbad, CA 

